Skip navigation

Don’t even try correcting the title.

So I’ve taken to learning French. I’ve even bought the Old Testament in French (I always found the l’Anciene Testament more interesting). Just that I never realise how hard it is to learn reading French. It’s like learning to read English: there are so much exceptions and rules, it doesn’t make sense to learn them. Reading is my big intermediate goal; I want to read Alexandre Dumas works in the original language.

I wish I went for German. German seems easier to pick up for an English speaker – largely because English and German are West Germanic languages, whereas French is a Romance language. Also I want to learn a language where I can legitimately use “ß” in everyday writing.

But alas, I must admit, the main reason why I want to learn French is to study at Sciences Po – and Sciences Po is in France, not Deutschland. And since I want to be in grad school by 30, I have oh, no more than six years to be fluent in la langue française? Completely «do-able». Not. But such is my irrationality.

P.S. Pointing out the high selectivity of Sciences Po is an invitation to be brutally murdered – you’ve been warned.

Leave a Reply

