Skip navigation

So earlier this term I made the rash decision to accept an internship offer and took the term off at the last minute. No regrets at first. In fact, little regret so far. But nevertheless, not really what I expected (in SMU terms, it is like being in Week 7 throughout – you don’t have to fake the nasty Weeks 12-15 but you’re working on Week 8 and post Week 15).

So far, my takeaways are:

1) I have a better idea what I want and don’t want do to with my life. I’ve been in sorta denial about my interests, simply because it is a tad hard to pursue them. Not pursuing my interests seems to be harder.

2) I know way more about myself. You know the Serenity Prayer: “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.” I know full well my weaknesses before this internship, but I have a far better idea what I cannot change now.

3) Nevertheless, I heartily recommend nobody to walk in my footsteps. I don’t think the tradeoffs are worth it. I could learn all these lessons post-graduation, but with a better paycheck and no stupid hostel duties.

In fact, don’t drink from the internship Kool Aid. If anything, I regret wasting so much time doing stuff I don’t like when I have the freedom to do things I like. Have fun. Make the best out of college (inasmuch as SMU is a pretty shitty place).

The worst part is that I doubt each subsequent internship will improve my chances for a job.

Leave a Reply

