Skip navigation

The name “Seth” is my second-choice (I wanted Zackary/Zachary/Zachariah/et al for the longest time, but then I met Zak Lim, so that would make it awkward), but I think it’s a pretty nifty name. It means “placed/appointed” and he’s the third son of Adam and Eve – I’m the third son too. Another top contender is “Zedekiah” (the Lord my justice), simply because I would have the coolest nick ever – Zed. Compared to nicks ranging to Raj to janjan.

What do you guys think?

P.S. If I tagged you in Facebook, it means that your opinion is most valued. Otherwise, you may still comment, and I shall take it into consideration.

P.P.S. When my best friends can’t pronounce “Rajan”–which is pretty incredulous to me–I sort of have to give in to the whole Christian name bit.

P.P.P.S. Would using Zachariah when I know someone with a similar name be entirely wrong? I mean, it’s my top choice. It means “God has remembered” – though while it was pretty apt some five years ago, its not as much these days.

P.P.P.P.S This is sort of inspired by the fact that I would be living in some place completely different for prolong periods of time for the first time in three years, making the name transition bit easier. So I kinda want to make my mind up now. Plus, I don’t want people to confuse me for Indian and therefore draw me into awkward Hindi or Kannada conversations.

Leave a Reply

