Skip navigation

Based on my last post:

1) My regret with choosing SMU was that it wasn’t the best decision I could have made at that time. If it were the best decision I could have made (instead of one that violated my gut feelings), I would feel a different form of crappiness.

2) One or two have noted that my dream college is a liberal arts college, while my failsafe is an extremely British system – thus SMU, being American-ish, was the safer bet. Not really: I don’t like liberal arts because it is American or its methods, but because of the philosophy of the system itself: that university ought not to be some sort of job training program. So UOL general degrees (including subjects like Economics, Government, etc.) would have been a better fit.

3) As for the difficulty of UOL external degrees, well, my plan was to do the first year just in case I can’t get into a college of choice. If I couldn’t, and if I found UOL external too difficult for me, I would have transferred to another program – like a British twinning program.

P.S. Based on 2), this is why I think Singapore’s growing efforts to build Asia’s first liberal arts college will fail as much as SMU failed at being Asia’s Wharton. With present plans to start the college off NUS, it’s a dire feeling.

P.P.S. One of my possibly unachievable dreams is to build a liberal arts college in Southeast Asia (preferably Malaysia or Singapore, or other English-speaking countries here like Brunei or the Philippines). Southeast Asians deserve to have a liberal arts option that doesn’t cost an upwards of US$40,000 in tuition, room and board annually.

P.P.P.S. I was thinking of Langkawi. Being duty-free, it seems extremely ideal a place to build a university *smirk*.

Leave a Reply

