Skip navigation

One thing confuses me about Singapore is why just about everyone assumes my name is pronounced “Ra-JAN” instead of “Ra-jen”. But beyond that, I find it funny that nowadays I respond to the prior, while previously, I get offended. Probably because thoughout primary and secondary school, it was a thing to do to pronounce my name the bahasa baku way (i.e. “Ra-JAN”) to make fun of the name. Funny that.

More than that, nowadays I’m responding to “Raj”. Honestly, I don’t think a name that is five characters long and two syllabus long needs to be shorten, but I prefer “Jan” to “Raj” because of the tonnes of people I know that is named “Raj” (and the fact that “Raj” will be equally appropriate for two other members of my immediate family).

One Comment

  1. On another note, Raj is possibly *the* most popular name in Indian (read Bollywood) cinema. And the name of Shah Rukh Khan in most movies. You should stick to Raj…some of the charm might rub off?


Leave a Reply

