Skip navigation

Nik Nazmi, __earth, and ShinShin faced through a nightmare they never deserve – meeting me in person. Nik Nazmi went, “Why did I invite him on Facebook?” __earth was like, “Nobody told me he was coming. I would have stayed home otherwise” and ShinShin even left midway the Young Lawyers Council and Youth for Change’s roundtable.

Though, he may have left because he was bored. The round table was nice in terms of meeting people and inflicting them with nights of unending nightmares, but a bore nonetheless. Speakers, except maybe Richard Wee, evaded and tried their hardest best not to answer pointed questions.

Like “Should Syariah law be supreme (over the constitution)?” Both Nik Nazmi and that ABIM guy gave something ambiguous. It was a simple yes/no question. Tricia Yeoh and Richard Wee was given the question, “Which race would benefit the most from repealing NEP” – neither answer it. Non-Malays, Malays – two possible answers.

And thus it was boring. Everyone, especially the ABIM guy who was quite a disappointment, adopted a completely non-confrontation-ish, middle-ground-ish stance. The ABIM guy can’t even bring himself to say in clear, pointed terms he supports an Islamist state in Malaysia.

I did enjoy Richard Wee’s speech though. Wished it was longer.

5 Comments

  1. Hi Rajan,

    I did state that I think the 1957 Merdeka Constitution works is the best for Malaysia IMHO.

    If I merely answered – I believe that the Constitution is superior to Islamic law – than I would be falling into the trap that poisons the debate in Malaysia.

    As I answered, I think that in view of the higher objectives of the Syariah, etc – our constitution is a fine document that poses no problems to me as a Malaysia, it’s easier to tell Muslims to accept the Constitution as it is. πŸ˜‰

    Anyway good to see you at the forum! We really should meet up for a prolonged discussion on issues in the near future!

  2. Erkk, not enough caffeine.

    I meant ‘our constitution is a fine document that poses no problems to me as a Muslim’.

  3. Nik Nazmi: That may well be an acceptable answer, but still a boring one. πŸ™‚

    I’m all for reverting to the 1957 constitution. I say we use our privileges in the Commonwealth and use the Privy Council. Wait, wait, there’s something more random coming up…. ah, yes, save money and start using British embassies.

  4. Are you guys kidding me? The Merdeka constitution is overhyped – its biggest problems were the work of one Abdul Malik, a certain authoritarian- and Islamist-minded Pakistani jurist. If you ask me, what ought to be restored is the draft that the Reid Commission put together before Abdul Malik presented an amended alternative that the Alliance chose over the original liberal draft.

    P.S. That’s a not-too-clever way to weasel out of answering the question, Nik. You could easily have answered that you believe the Constitution is the supreme law of the land in Malaysia, but that God’s law will judge everyone in the akhirat, or something to that effect – that comparing the two is like comparing apples and oranges because both are laws meant for different worlds and different purposes. (Maybe that is what you meant, because that is pretty much what the status quo is with the current constitution, Article 121(1A) excepted.)

    Haih. Separation of church/mosque and state is such a pain in the ass for politicians who practice a religion. :p

  5. johnleemk: Well, there was a reason why the original Reid constitution wasn’t accepted. I rather go with something better than something that would never be accepted πŸ™‚

    On Nik Nazmi’s reply, I now beg to disagree. Boring as it may be, believing that any law that fulfills religious conditions but not necessarily connected to the religion is quite different from what you suggested.

    And I practice a religion, and a fervent secularist at that. I find it quite easy, actually. I think God can punish people far much better than humans. I mean, which is worse; hellfire or a bunch of canings? Maybe it’s because I’m not a politician?


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] in Oxford! Yusri Mohammad, the President of ABIM and an old acquaintance was also there and I met Rajan for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised to see Shahabudeen and Olga, the Russian student who […]

Leave a Reply

